You are here:   History > Races Past > Races Past: Eve of the Big Blast 1980
  |  Login

MAY 17TH, 1980

Greetings history fans, do you remember what you were doing Sunday morning, May 18th 1980? Most F.E.A.R. drivers and fans were most likely out of harms way, recovering from racing the night before!As he did often in 1980, Jerry shockley set fast time for the stocks on a dry track at 19.82. Doug Delfel picked up the B trophy dash in his '63 Plymouth, and Joe Young Jr. the "A". New comer Craig Eakright beat Becky Hart's '66 Chevelle to the line in the first heat, Ted Nye bested Leonard Thomas for the second , and Mark Jenkins brought his Pontiac in ahead of Sam Houghtaling's '65 Chevelle for heat three. Butch Furrow won heat four in his sharp '64 Galaxie, Mick Tomlin drove Steve Welty's mount to the stripe in the fifth heat, and Ben Chandler grabbed the fast heat in his trusty '65 Sattelite over Rick Bowker. In the main events, Ted Nye beat brother Joe ,Paul Pilkenton and Berlin Cook for the "D", Jenkins and Houghtaling managed a repeat 1-2 finish in the "C" over Gary Copeland and Ed Ritchie, and Don Vogenthaler copped the B main in his '65 Galaxie ahead of veteran Murphy Falkenhainer who was substituting for Jack Sappenfield.Richard Thompson won the "A" in Lee Fraziers '64 Impala convertible, over Rick Bowker.

In Superstock action on the 3/8 oval, Ron Fritzley picked up the fast time hardware with a clocking of 18.98. Jerry Leckenby won the trophy dash, while Paul Patterson and Lynn Chandler grabbed the heat victories. "Roofer" Leonard Sundholm had the spotlight for the main event over Lee Daily, Ralph Ridley jr., and Del Comstock. That was F.E.A.R. action for "Mt. St. Helens weekend", thirty years ago! Thanks for reading, F.E.A.R. historian Tom Claibourn