You are here:   History > Races Past > Races Past: April 1974, 1982 & 1993
  |  Login

Races Past: Sunday April 7th, 1974

F.E.A.R. competitors enjoyed a dry track for the 1974 opener, but were probably still feeling the pain of the oil embargo... even the newspaper ad for the track touted the program sharing Foriegn Stocks as "The little gas savers". Lee Daily started his first championship season off with a bang, grabbing the lead of the 20-lap Stock division A main on round 14, and leading to the checkered followed by the Ford Galaxie's of Murphy Falkenhainer and "Bud Man" Earl Biddle. Ralph Lewis took fourth in his '62 Dodge.Terry Guisinger fought a hard battle for fresh air in the B main ,only to loose his lead to Jon Lawson on the white flag lap when he had to slow for an intersection crash. Lawson's Galaxie and Guisinger's Polara were followed to the line by second year drivers Nelson Downey, Mick Tomlin, and Bud Fagerlie. Rookie Gordy Laugen won the C main. Ray Bennett started his best season with a good showing in the Superstock main, leading 21 circuits of the 25 lap event, spinning under pressure from second running Carl Zaretzke. Bennett recovered to take fourth in his '57 Chev behind the '64 Fairlane of Larry Vanyi,and the '62 Chrysler of "Big" John Sullivan.

Other results:
Stock fast time: Vern Deitz, 19.63
Dash: George Bullo
Heat one: Dick Hozian
Heat two: Bud Fagerlie
Heat three: Jerry Townsend
Heat four: Don Gregg
Superstock fast time: Jerry Smith 19.08
Dash: Zaretzke
Heat: Roy Britton

Races Past: Sunday April 10th, 1982

We travel ahead eight years for our second April installment, and coincidently find another dry track, and Vern Deitz once again setting fast time on the eight, in his first of three championship years. Three of the other 1974 players,Ray Bennett ,Lee Daily,and Carl Zaretzke, appear in the winners circle again as well. Deitz nearly scored a clean sweep, winning the dash, and A main in his '69 Cougar over the big Impala convertable of Leon Frazier, and the Dodge Dart of defending champion Brian Delfel."My Boy" Leroy Jensen claimed the B main trophy in his Ford Torino fastback ,with Joe Young Jr. and Kurt Meyer following him across the line.Mike Young scored the C main hardware for the "Scrap Iron team", ahead of Doug Delfel and Mel Buckles.Lee Daily also managed a near clean sweep in the 3/8 oval Superstocks, taking everything but the dash , which went to Wayne Crum. Daily's fast time of 17.98 was a new track record, and coming in behind in the A main were Tobey Butler and Crum. Mike Estabrook and John Gay headed up the B main, while Carl Zaretzke captured the first heat.

Other Stock results:
Fast time: Vern Deitz, 19.01
Heat one : Ray Bennett
Heat two: Ben Chandler
Heat three: Dave Brandenburg

Races Past: Saturday April 10th, 1993

C main: Rich Groshong, Chris Curtis,Steve Scott
B main: Rick Deitz, Greg Scott, Brian Gunderson
A main: Chuck Widdis, Richard Pimms,Gary Taylor, Ron Steltz