You are here:   History > Races Past > Races Past: April 1970 & 1987
  |  Login

RACES PAST: April 1970 & 1987

Greetings history fans, it's last Saturday night all over again, but 1970 & 1987! for 1970, time trials got underway at 6:30 P.M., with competition at 8:00. The "Krazy Kraut" Bob Sheckler took home the hardware for the one and only Stock Division trophy dash, driving what at the time was a comparatively nimble '62 Plymouth. Bob would go on to win two championships and one runner up position with that car. Gary Walls won the slow heat in his purple '55 Ford, followed by a driver who started and ended all the Seventies seasons without missing a beat in between-Ralph Lewis. Ralph's ride was a very large & very bright orange '57 Chrysler, and his Mopars would continue to get smaller and more competitive as the decade progressed. Fast heat honors went to 1968-1972 F.E.A.R. veteran Orrin Cox, in a '60 Ford Fairlane, with Sheckler beating on his rear bumper. Cox would have a banner day, also winning the main event. Danny Eastman finished second in another very competitive '62 Plymouth, sponsored by Eastgate OK tire. Sheckler fought his way through to third place, followed by Ken Buchanan in his black '58 Desoto.

In Superstock action, Dan Knott(a.k.a. "Dirty Dan The Sewerman"), powered his '59 Ford to the dash and heat race victories. In its first year of allowing post 1953 full-bodied cars, the class saw a real mixed bag of vehicles, before everyone sorted out what would work the best. Eventual season champ Wayne Crum followed Knott in the heat driving a '61 Ford Fairlane, with 20 year old Ewart Grove finishing third in his '63 Fairlane. Bob Moore copped the main driving one of the oldest cars in the field, a '53 Ford . His car was a carry-over from the 1969 season, with front sheet metal added to legalize it for 1970.Second to Moore was the '57 Chevrolet of 5th-year driver Carl Zaretzke, just ahead of Grove and Roger "Ramjet" Estrin's '63 Plymouth. Rounding out the top seven were Knott, Crum, and Chuck Slavin in a '60 Dodge.

April 18th,1987 featured a large field of one-division 8-mobiles, and President Mike Candaux took the dash in a '67 Cougar.Richard Pimms picked up the first heat in his ever dependable '63 Galaxie ahead of "Jolly Green Giant" Steve Powell(Camaro) and Niel Hamlin(Nova).Middle heat honors went to "Jaws" Kieth Blumhagen(Camaro),followed by Troy Mattern's '61 Ford Starliner, and Lonnie Odlins '70 Buick Skylark.The final heat saw Doug Delfel's yellow & blue Camaro the victor over Al Hauck in a purple Nova, and Quenton Borreson in his red '69 Dart.Hamlin took the B main over Tony Crenshaw, who's Ford Granada sported a lincoln trunk lid complete with integral spare tire hump! The A main checkers fell first over the hood of Borreson's Dodge, followed by Kurt Meyer, and Greg Scott in Ben Chandler's former mount, a '69 Road Runner. In this weeks classifieds, Andy Daniels was looking for '65 Chevelle parts( probably a lot easier in 1987), and Gary Lee was offering a partially race constructed '74 Chevelle for $150. Tony Crenshaw only asked $350 for a full set of 215-70r14 radials on Rocket aluminum wheels. Now, back to April 2009!
F.E.A.R. historian, Tom Claibourn