You are here:   History > Races Past > Races Past: 9/27/69
  |  Login


Greetings history fans, it's Saturday September 27th all over again, but in 1969! In the knock -down drag out Stock division, amazingly enough cars made it to the end of the season to fill four heats and two main events. Hard charging "rent a driver" Cliff Pierce, this season piloting a Ford for Duane Cocking, won the A dash, while Jerry Moore took the B trophy in his '59 Dodge. Heats went to "Playboy" Danny Malloy in his white OK Tire'59 Dodge, Nat Green in his Rocky's Richfield poppy red colored '58 Dodge, and Danny Eastman in a black OK Tire sponsored '61 Dodge 4-door sedan. Sorry, no information on the fast heat winner " big George". Dense FOG moved in for the B-main, which according to Dan Malloy was a real crap shoot at the intersection. F.E.A.R. writer Leanne Beane mentioned that the stands were invisible from trackside, all the more credit to Bob "Krazy Kraut" Sheckler, as he logged his first ever main win a '56 Ford, co-owned by Lloyd Williams. Nat Green pulled down second, followed by the white Clyde Hill Enco '57 Plymouth of Cliff McCracken, Dan Malloy, and Jerry Moore. Usual B main competitor Chris Ipson of Everett ended his second and last F.E.A.R. season on a very positive note, with a surprise victory in the Stock A main event. Ipson's car was a blue '55 Ford " Club Victoria" 2-door hardtop, complete with large "hippie flowers" adorning the trunk lid. Season champion Roger Estrin followed in his yellow and brown Haury's Auto Rebuild '61 Dodge. Eventual 4-time champion and second place points man for 1969, Carl Zaretzke finished third in his red Dynac of Marysville owned '62 Plymouth, with the black Ford of Orrin Cox, and the blue '55 mercury of future F.E.A.R. president Larry Goe placing 4th and 5th.

For the Modified division, Paul Campbell of Arlington picked up the trophy dash in his '53 Ford, while Jim Thornton won the heat race in his yellow and blue '40 Chev coupe. Season champion John Beeson took the final main event of the season in Walt Day's " Little Namu", a black '52 Olds 88 hardtop, sponsored by Olson Olds, and Kerry's Enco. "Wild Indian" Dave Dean finished second, driving Grant Clothier's Patterson Tire '52 Chev Belair hardtop, followed by Wayne Crum, Paul Campbell, and Bob Moore.

In closing I'd like to give posthumous credit to club president Ben Estes, V.P. Walt Day, and secretary Ken Buchanan, all recently deceased, as well as current and long time speedway employee Dale Youman who served as treasurer in 1969.It's back to 2008! F.E.A.R. historian, Tom Claibourn