You are here:   History > Races Past > Races Past: 1968, 1978 & 1988
  |  Login

RACES PAST: 1968, 1978, & 1988

Greetings history fans, this week we'll look at race results from past June events, beginning with 1968:

JUNE 15TH, 1968
The third outing of the month for F.E.A.R. featured the front fender-less '39-'53 vintage "modifieds", as well as the new and growing Stock division. Carl Zaretzke, in his third season of modified competition, won the main and fast heat with a '50 Ford. Doug Lashbough picked up the dash trophy in his Dale Youman owned Cadillac hardtop. Dean Henbest was victor in the slow heat driving a '53 Plymouth."Wild" Bill Williams took the stock dash and Main driving for Walt Day in a '59 Plymouth Sport Fury. Chuck Slavin grabbed the slow heat, with Glenn VanProyen taking the fast heat in a '58 Ford.

JUNE 10TH,1978
F.E.A.R. drivers and fans were greeted with an evening long torrential downpour for the second June outing of 1978. Cliff Williams won the 1st heat and B-main, followed to the main checkered by Mike Tracey and Cherill Scott. Gene Brookover grabbed the 2nd heat in his Lee Sundholm owned '62 Galaxie, while 3rd heat honors went to Rob Holden driving a '64 Impala. 14 competitors hydo-planed their way though the Hobby stock A main, with Holden taking the win after coming back from a dump by a lapped car. Rich Bowker was second over "wild" Bill Dennis in a '64 Galaxie. In Superstock action, Roger Steigal copped the 1st heat, followed by the Rambler of Nelson Downey, and the '66 Ranchero of "weird" Harold Babula. Eventual season champ Wayne Crum was the 2nd heat victor, with Ron Daggett's Barracuda in tow. 17 cars took the green flag in the finale, with Daggett capturing the spotlight over Crum's '66 Fairlane, Vern Dietz in a very large Mercury Cougar, and Terry Guisinger in his '65 Dodge Monaco.

June 11th,1988
Harry Clements brought his Camaro into winners circle after front running Rick Hager tagged rookie Marvin Boney at the intersection on the last lap of what was reported to be one of the "nastiest" a mains of the season so far."Monster man" Hager survived the tangle to place second over the "Crazy Cajun" Vern Dietz in his Butch Furrow owned '69 Mustang fastback. That race would be the leading topic of discussion at the next general membership meeting, to be held at Bailey's restaurant in Bellevue. Club President Ben Chandler copped the B-main in his Barracuda, followed by the Buick Skylark of Big Ed Ritchie, and Jessie Bertino in a '64 Impala. "My boy Leroy" Jensen won the C main in his '69 Torino notchback, with the Nova of Kenny Schukar and the ever dependable '63 Galaxie of Richard Pimms close behind. Jensen, Schukar, Greg Scott, and Hager took heat race victories, while "Spanky" Daryl Swinehart won the trophy dash in a blue and silver '69 Dodge Dart. Upcoming on Sunday June 26th, would be the annual F.E.A.R. picnic at Lake Sammamish state park. Thanks for reading, now it's back to 2009!
F.E.A.R. historian, Tom Claibourn